DC-isms

“isms” (Part Two)…

This morning, I saw a commercial. Actually, a PSA. It was on in the background while I ate breakfast. I wasn’t paying attention until I heard the last line and looked up. And – it wasn’t a joke:

 

“Keeping DC rat-free”

 

I support that!! …wow.

 

 


 

I also read a paper that my boss found (yes, found) that is some weird right-wing conspiracy publication. They talk about “mainstream media” like it’s Satan incarnate. Entertaining, yes. Informative, no. For example, “Is Obama even a US Citizen??” and “{Insert guy’s name here – I forgot} was framed! What the Mainstream Media Won’t Report!”. And it’s not the Enquirer or anything. It’s a paper… a weird, weird paper…

 


 

The other day I had to step around a pile of newspaper and vomit to get upstairs to my office.

 

 


 

My car failed its safety and emissions check. You know what they do when that happens? They put a big, pink sticker on the windshield that says, “REJECTED.” 

 

 


Mike has gone crazy. I found him experimenting. He wanted to see what it was like for the dog to get up our stairs. So he was on his hands and knees, climbing the stairs on all fours. I laughed so hard… And then I tried it too.

 

PS – downstairs is much, much harder. The blood rushes to your head.

PPS – this is what happens when you don’t’ have any friends.

 


 

Today I met “Black Michael” (Gordon). Yup…

 

 


 

The other day there was a kid on the Metro with his dad. The kid looks exactly what Mike’s and my son(s) will look like. Or at least he better… So cute!

 


Finally, tonight (Friday) Mike and I went out to eat at Coastal Flats inside Tysons Corner mall. I tried bread pudding for the first time ever, and I LOVED it!

 

           

 

We explored the mall a little – I, in search of child-sized sunglasses for my freakishly narrow face – and Mike, for a winter coat (which, incidentally, inspired me to do the same. Imagine that.)

 

We wandered into Brooks Brothers and found some lovely items:

            Tie = $75

            Men’s Coat = $500

Woman’s Boot = $600

Men’s Coat #2 = $900

Looking wealthy = priceless

 

Banana Republic is now “BR” which entitles them to equally outlandish prices. $500 for a woman’s coat? Really?? Seriously???

 

LL Bean has a waterfall in their store. We found a catfish in the water!!

 

 

We wandered into Williams Sonoma, and picked up a schedule of their cooking technique classes for the fall. They’re free! I think we’re going to try to attend the “Comfort Foods” class in a couple weeks. So fun!

 

Tomorrow we are having ALL our friends up here over to watch the FSU game. So the five of us will have a blast… 🙂 Hehe… That is, if TS Hanna doesn’t ruin everything…

 

And on Sunday I get to see Alyssa! STINKY BUNNY! (Only she can appreciate that)

  1. #1 by Jill on September 6, 2008 - 12:48 am

    Ok, I laughed out loud at all of those. Man, I miss you and your crazy antics. Michael and I would like to request photographic evidence of his black counterpart….and of Mike crawling up and down the stairs.

    p.s. trying to figure out how to stow away to DC before January…[

  2. #2 by Heather on September 7, 2008 - 10:21 pm

    That was WAAAAAAAAAYYY to funny!!! I can’t believe you tried climbing up and down the stairs on all fours. Too too funny!!!!!! Thanks for making me laugh on my break from my paper lol

  3. #3 by Janet on September 8, 2008 - 9:11 am

    I saw the same rat commercial while in Baltimore last week. OMG! I had to do a doubletake to make sure it wasnt a joke. I was so busy with my conference i never even thought about how far you were away from me. We could have possibly could have met one evening.

    Looks like you guys are doing great. Hope you didnt break down and buy the $500 winter coat. Just because you got that gorgeous couch for free doesnt mean you make up for it elsewhere. Or does it?? Your blog is so fun to read it is really making me consider doing my own. How fun!

  4. #4 by Joshua Hughes on September 9, 2008 - 10:51 am

    Laura, you have mad blogging skills. We missed you guys at Fellowship Group last night!

Leave a Reply

