Random Thoughts by Laura

Some funny stories…

The other day, a pigeon flew directly at my face on my walk from the office to the metro station. I had to “hit the deck” in order to avoid what would have been, at the very least, a very embarrassing black eye story. I half expected to turn and see the pigeon, flying away, turn his head back, focus his beady eyes on me, and with his fore finger and middle finger, point to his eyes, point violently to mine, and then point back at his. *shudder*

 

 

This morning it was only in the 40’s, so I only donned a scarf and coat and went to work. Instead of the day heating up, the temperature dropped, and rain came. (This is where that new fangled IN-TAH-NET would have come in handy to check today’s weather forecast…). So, on my way from the office to the metro (why does everything funny happen on my way home??), I used my scarf, which is actually a pashmina, and wrapped it so it hooded my head, shielding me slightly from the frigid rain. I felt like I looked like a refugee (incidentally, later I saw myself in a reflection and I did, in fact, look like a refugee. Yup…). I was king of embarrassed to be walking among high level executives while the Capitol building looked at me with a smirk on its face. I walked swiftly down the road thinking “It’s keeping me dry(ish) and warm. I don’t care if I look dumb.” I still felt self-conscious… until… I passed a woman wearing 2 showers caps on her head. And no, she wasn’t homeless. So the “silliest looking pedestrian” award passes me up by a hair and goes to the shower cap lady. Thank you, shower cap lady. Thank you.

 

I have another story. (Lisa Brown, it is my very first “Kunze Story.” It’s been endorsed and everything.) BUT, alas, friends, it is not an appropriate topic for this male-female readership. If you ladies want to hear the story, email me. Or call. Ha! Who am I kidding? I don’t answer my phone, ever. Email me.

 

A Beautiful Sound

Funny stories aside, Mike and I went to a Hymn Sing at Covenant Life on Friday. Covenant Life Church (or CLC… yes, CB FLP friends, I almost always think of… say it with me… “Counselor Leadership Conference (CLC)”…but I digress) is in Gaithersburg, MD. Kind of far…but… It is the very first church we visited after moving up here. We had decided it was too far to reasonably get plugged in, but we found out they are planting a church in Arlington in 2009. So now we will start attending CLC regularly, and then move to the church plant next year. CLC is an amaaaazing church. It came highly recommended by our Pastors back home, and I can see why.

 

The Hymn Sing was wonderful. The worship pastor led us in song, teaching us some of the history and background behind each one and behind each author/composer. It was a really cool night of praising God and giving Him glory for how he moves in His people through music.

 

One song stuck out at me, and I want to share it here. I wish I could give you a recording…

 

First of all, there was an 8-person choir helping lead worship with a piano and a couple guitars. Most of the night, their voices blended with the rest of the congregation. But this time… 

 

The song was “And Can It Be (that I should gain)” – the song reveals the thoughts of a man who can barely believe that God has forgiven him and brought him freedom from sin and condemnation. Knowing his sin, and the depth of it, he is awed by God’s mercy. The first two verses talk about his wonder at God’s forgiveness and his own sin. He describes his lowly state. Then, in verse three, the writer paints a picture that is so powerful:

 

Long my imprisoned spirit lay, fast bound in sin and nature’s night;

thine eye diffused a quickening ray;

I woke, the dungeon flamed with light;

my chains fell off, my heart was free,

I rose, went forth, and followed thee.

 

(Chorus):

Amazing Love (Amazing love), How can it be? (How can it be?)

That thou my God shouldst die for me?

 

The worship pastor had us sing the first two verses quietly sitting down. Before we began singing, he asked us to stay seated through the third verse, standing at the point where it says “my chains fell off.” Up until that point, he encouraged us to imagine ourselves as the song says:

 

And can it be, that I should gain
An interest in the Saviour’s blood?
Died He for me, who caused His pain
For me, who Him to death pursued?
Amazing love! how can it be
That Thou, my God, shoulds’t die for me?

 

(Chorus)

 

He left His Father’s throne above,
So free, so infinite His grace,
Emptied Himself of all but love,
And bled for Adam’s helpless race:
‘Tis mercy all, immense and free;
For, O my God, it found out me!

 

(Chorus)

 

Then, in verse 3, after singing quietly while sitting, imagining ourselves as the writer of the song had imagined himself, a prisoner of sin, we stood and sang triumphantly as we sang “My chains fell off, my heart was free, I rose, went forth, and followed thee (chorus).”

 

As the congregation came to its feet, the music swelled. The choir, previously singing the melody in quiet unison, burst forth in victorious 4 part harmony and strength as they praised God for what he has done in our lives. Everyone in the room sang from heir heart, an offering to the Lord. Hands were raised up high, voices rang out, and as one body, we worshipped. We rejoiced! It was powerful. The Holy Spirit was present. I thanked God then for finally bringing Mike and me to a church that loves God and leads it people in such surrendered passion to God. 

 

I don’t know if that description gives you a glimpse of Friday night. It certainly can’t do it justice. But I’ll be singing that song on my own for a while, remembering the crescendo of voices and instruments. Sing it too, with me. Sing at home, in the car, in the shower. Turn off your radios, tvs, and ipods. Sing a great hymn of the faith. 

 

 

And finally, I must say something about…

On Abortion in the Political Race (Christians and Non-Christians, please read):

 

A common argument against overturning Roe v Wade is that we should not “legislate morality” or that Christians should “allow people to make their choices” and not “impose their religion” on a nation. Here are my thoughts:

 

I agree that we should allow people to make their own mistakes and decisions. From a Christian perspective, we call this sin. Our Father gave us free will to do so, or else the incident in the Garden of Eden would never have taken place. Ultimately, he actually uses sin for His glory, which rocks.
 
But Scripture has never used free will or God’s proclivity to use sin for good as an excuse to avoid consequences or punishment. He allowed Jonah to run from His commandment, but what happened to Jonah? A big, fat fish swallowed him as a consequence to his sin. And what of sinners in the New Testament? Ananaius and Saphira were killed due to their selfishness and deceit. Did God allow these people to sin? Yes. And, in the case of Ananaius and Saphira, it was LAW they broke. You see, God commands us to not only live righteous lives through faith in Him, but to call others to righteousness in three ways:
  • Holy living (examples of “right”)
  • Prayer – for others and ourselves (power and strength to do “right”)
  • Laws of the land (enforcement of “right”)

 

*PS – none of the above is possible without the justifying and sanctifying mercy and grace poured out on us by God through the death of Jesus Christ. Just had to say that…

 

It is not small-minded to “impose” a law which happens to agree with our Faith. We are not mandating people to worship our God. We are not forcing them to be baptised. However, if you are a Christian and are truly “anti-abortion” (IE, you believe abortion is murder), then you should support the same laws and sanctions on abortion as there are on other “moral crimes” (like murder, rape, etc). I know that a woman wants to retain her right to “her own body,” but the government isn’t making her DO anything – just REFRAIN from doing something.
 
What if a man raped a child? Is he not allowed to do what he wants with HIS body? Of course not!
 
We all have liberty up until the point where that liberty infringes on the rights, liberties, and life of another – as abortion does (just like murder or rape).
 
I beg you to pray and ask God how HE would stand on this issue. I know that God is pro-life, and I know He will not remain silent.

 

 

That’s all for tonight, friends. Sorry there are no fun pictures of us. We’ll work on that…

 

Ok, fine… here are two. Of me. Taken by Mike’s blackberry while inside LL Bean at the mall…

 

 

And, for anyone who read this far, you’re a true friend and won’t be annoyed by my excitement that….

I finally reached my goal weight! I did it! Hooray!!!! 

  1. #1 by Mrs on October 27, 2008 - 11:00 pm

    Except for the pigeon part (which cracked me up), I loved this post. I could hear the choir singing “And Can it Be” and I wanted to stand along with the congregation. It’s one of my all time favorite hymns!

    Thanks for sharing, love the hat! And congrats on the weight goal! Celebrate with . . . celery, of course!

  2. #2 by icardi on October 27, 2008 - 11:56 pm

    Congrats on reaching your goal!! That’s great!! Mrs. Welsh is great. You should celebrate with celery! Can you believe how fast time is going? Before you know it we’ll be on our way up there!!!:) Take care!
    By the way, the Worship night that you talked about sounds amazing!! It is really cool to see the result of many, many people praising God all under one roof!

  3. #3 by Phyllis on October 28, 2008 - 8:00 am

    That hymn has been running through my head the past few days.

    Love the ushanka (hat)! 🙂

  4. #4 by Jill on October 30, 2008 - 1:29 am

    Congrats on your goal weight, friend!!! I KNEW you could do it–never a doubt! You’ve worked hard for it and I admire your dedication. Now if only that would cause me to consistently attend the Y…

    I’m so glad things are starting to click for you up there, especially with the worship aspect of things. I know how important that is and I’m glad you’ve found what you were looking for.

    Ok, so I am going to call you…I am. We need to firm up some dates! 🙂

  5. #5 by Lisa on October 30, 2008 - 10:43 pm

    Umm… definitely need to hear the story. Speaking of Kunze, I got to see your folks tonight. Miss you lots friend. Haha, and your dad brought up the “Fighting Schnauzers”, how come I can never remember that story? So glad to hear you’re well and that you’ve reached your goal weight – woot woot 🙂

Leave a Reply

