Life in these here parts

Today was Veterans Day, which meant Mike and I didn’t have to go to work. We decided to take a trip to the Natural History Museum in downtown DC. Here are some of our photos from the day…

 

 


img_3813


img_3820

img_3823

img_38251

img_38281

img_3830Giant Sea Roach, anyone?

img_3832

img_3836

img_3841I’m pretending to be eaten by the dinosaur, and I love how that kid is watching me like I’m crazy!

 

img_3845My grandpa, uncle, and cousin are all named Albert. So this is like a distant relative!

 

img_3852    img_3848

 

img_3854

 

img_3855

Apparently long and clunky necklaces have always been in style…

 

img_3856

img_3860

img_3865   img_3867

What’s a day off without climbing a tree?

 

img_3871Winter is coming!

 

img_3873   img_3878

This is where we sat to have a picnic lunch. It was coooooold.

 

img_3886So we moved inside the truck to eat, with this being our view. See the White House? And that’s a grown man and his elderly father with two cute dogs. It was a very nice view!

 

And some random other pretty/interesting pictures from today and recently…

img_3887   img_3892

 

img_3804   img_3803

The view from our bedroom window…

 

img_3807

The view from our living room window…

 

img_3703   img_3706

We went to a McCain rally on the Saturday before the election.

For our Democratic and/or Obama supporter friends, we want to say that we will do everything in our power to support our new Commander in Chief. We will pray for him and submit to his leadership because we believe God sets all leaders over us, even if we did think that McCain was:

img_3798Hehe…

 

But I think I know why McCain lost. His campaign workers can’t spell:

img_3697Really?! Really?! Seriously?!

 

And a few snapshots to give you a feel for our experience at the rally:

img_3698

img_3726   img_37731

 

img_37971

This is how close I got when the rally was over. I got almost close enough to shake his hand… but not quite.

 

The end!

 

 

 

 


  1. #1 by Mrs on November 11, 2008 - 10:49 pm

    I love the bear hug! Love the fall colors! Love you guys!

  2. #2 by Jill on November 12, 2008 - 3:21 am

    There are so many pictures I want to comment on!!!
    So, here goes:

    1. sea roach? ewwwwwwww
    2. the climbing-a-tree pic reminded me of how you, me, and Mike climbed a similar tree in North Carolina…and of course the hilarious comments made
    3. be-autiful fall colors!
    4. I am as appalled at that parking sign as you are! I’d like to evoke the words of Cindy at Arbor…C’MON!
    5. Wow, you were really close to McCain! So cool!

    A little over a month and I will see you!

  3. #3 by Victoria on November 13, 2008 - 1:03 pm

    Looks like you had fun!
    Reminds my of parts of the Museum of Science in Boston.

Leave a Reply

