Thanksgiving. I love my family.

An email from my mom this week… (Mommy, hope you don’t mind). She sent this to all her children, plus Daddy.

 

Hello all!  With Thanksgiving coming up, I have been feeling nostalgic.  Do you remember some of the projects we did when y’all were little to encourage you to concentrate on the things you were thankful for?  In case you don’t, let me refresh your memories.  One year you each could take a construction paper “link” each day and write on it (or have Daddy or I write on it for those of you too little to write what you were thankful for.  Of course, the links were fall colors – I do love a theme.  We put the links together to make a chain of thankfulness which we draped in the dining room.  Two or three years later we did the tree of thankfulness.  Sarah painted a tree trunk on the ever present newsprint which we got for free from the Tribune, and I painstakingly cut out autumn leaves (again, fall colored construction paper) for you to write your ‘thankfulnesses’ to glue onto the background. (I discovered several years later that one can actually buy fall leaf cutouts.)

 

Recently Daddy and I were going through the foot lockers full of keepsakes.  They had unfortunately been stored in the shed behind the church building here, and the contents all suffered some water damage (or at least dampness) to a greater or lesser degree.  I came across the chain and the tree.  Despite their mustiness, they still convey to me a sense of cute little kids wanting to express their gratitude for things large and small.  I thought y’all might get a kick out of hearing some of the things you were most thankful for.  Of course, during each time you all expressed thankfulness for each other, Daddy and me, grandparents, etc.  So I didn’t list any of those, only some of the more unusual ones for you.  When there is a name attached I have listed that.  Otherwise they were anonymous.  Here goes:

 

God and Jesus, Holy God – Sarah

Being a little girl in a sweet loving home

Three things, God, Jesus and the holey Ghost (Original spelling)

Puzzles

Typewriter – Robbie

Thank you God for not letting me have a broken knee

Christmas trees with windup song – Robbie (Anyone know what he’s referring to?)

Flowers

Shelter, clothes, food – Emily

Chicken – Robbie

Sunsets

Being able to stay home with the kids – me

Pencils – Laura

For Science Fiction and TV – Sarah

Animals, especially cats, horses and bears

For meadows and flowers and forests.  And we are able to do as we please unlike other countries – Sarah

Trips alone with Bob – Me

Coming home to little ones – also me!

Zana and piano lessons

Pigs

All cats – “Guess who”

Casey and Fuzzy – Emily

Making Angel Grandpa better

Jeff and Judy

Christmas – Sarah (I assume she meant the holiday, not the dog, since this was pre-doggie, I’m sure)

The sky – Laura

Bed – Laura (Hmmm, not much has changed.)

Little kids’ funny words, e.g. “citizen toast!” – Me

Imagination

Good books

Toys

Cookie Monster – Robbie

Butterflies – Robbie

Our (use to) pool – Laura (Not sure what this is referring to either.)

 

On the year of the chain, Daddy wrote these links: 

For my father who taught me the manly art of gentleness

For my mother who never let on if she thought my dreams were silly or impossible

For Mary – my very best friend and God’s helpmate for me

For Sarah – my “little princess “ (read the book) to whom God has given a deep caring heart

For Emily – whose courage and confidence come from God and whose heart belongs to her family

For Robbie – who chose me for his best friend

For Laura – who is more entertaining than TV (and cuddlier too!)

 

This Thanksgiving, I am thankful for the little kids you were and the adults you have become.  I love you all.

 

Mommy

  1. #1 by Mrs on November 12, 2008 - 4:58 pm

    How precious! Kudos to your mom for the idea, AND for saving the links! I totally would have tossed them.

  2. #2 by Jill on November 13, 2008 - 2:16 am

    I love that your mom sent out that email–how sweet! And I agree with your dad…you are more entertaining than tv!

  3. #3 by Phyllis on November 13, 2008 - 8:01 am

    Neat! You do have a wonderful mother! We’re at the stage of doing all those little projects that your mom was writing about. Now I’m inspired to save the results for later and remind my children of them when they’re grown up. 🙂

  4. #4 by icardijrfamily on November 13, 2008 - 9:46 am

    This is Michael,

    I always remember my mom using the Robertson’s annual calendars to record those little quotes/activities year round. I’m sure it’d be fun to look back through those some day.

  5. #5 by Phyllis on November 13, 2008 - 2:42 pm

    Oh, Michael, does she still have those? MomI, are you reading this?

  6. #6 by icardijrfamily on November 13, 2008 - 3:29 pm

    I have to assume they are in the storage somewhere…

Leave a Reply

