Mike loves me

When Mike’s family came to our house in Tallahassee for the first time, it was right after we got married, and we were still moving in/unpacking. Their visit was my motivation to get everything unpacked and settled in. But, of course, I freaked out a couple days before, convinced that the house wasn’t ready and overwhelmed with everything I had to do. I finally broke down crying as I said “We’re not ready; this place is a mess because we don’t have a filing cabinet, and I need eucalyptus!!” *hiccup.cry.sniff*

 

You see, I had read in some “helpful” magazine that dried eucalyptus can help a home smell, well, homey. Plus, the guy in “You’ve Got Mail” gets some because he wants his apartment to “smell mossy.” Somehow, in my feverish homemaking, I had convinced myself that my home was incomplete and unfit without eucalyptus. Oh, and a filing cabinet. Just what every new wife wants…

 eucalyptus

 

filing-cabinet

Mike was great. He calmed me down and took me to Target and then to Michael’s to get a filing cabinet and eucalyptus branches.

Incidentally, none of this frenzied breakdownishness should be a reflection on my in-laws. In fact, my mother-in-love tells me all the time not to clean or do anything when they come, and she actually means it (unlike many mothers-in-law). She and the rest of the family don’t care about that. But I like them to see that I’ve made a good home. Mom is always encouraging me in that way, which means a lot.

 

Anyway, that’s just a funny story to illustrate how I get whenever company is coming.

 

As Mike and I prepare for Christmas, we have guests coming (Lois was just here last weekend), and I’ve been a little crazed. Mike and I have been emailing back and forth to organize our grocery lists, shopping lists, and to-do lists. Here’s a snippet from our last exchange:

 

Me, to Mike: I think that covers it. I still might go a little crazy… I’ll try to be civilized, but if I break out in a cavewoman rage, just hug me. 🙂

Mike, to Me: Virtual hug…

 

He is so great…

  1. #1 by Mrs on December 17, 2008 - 1:02 pm

    Gotta love that Mike! Sending you some virtual hugs for Christmas!

    I hope you enjoy all of your company. After three days no one cares what the house looks like . . . honestly.

  2. #2 by Jill on December 17, 2008 - 10:20 pm

    This post made me laugh because I’ve had my moments like that as well. I know exactly what you mean about wanting to show that you’ve made a good home. And sometimes it’s the little things–like, say, a filing cabinet that says “I’m organized” and eucalyptus says “We’re like cuddly koala bears”

    p.s. You know I’ll just be tickled to be there.

  3. #3 by Adam on December 18, 2008 - 11:07 am

    Wow…

    I really don’t know what else to say.

    Just wow.

Leave a Reply

