An Icardi Christmas

This year was an Icardi Christmas year, and they all came up to Virginia to spend one whole week with us! I LOVED having a houseful of family members here.

On Tuesday (the 23rd), Mom, Dad, Timothy, Natalie, Mike, and I all went into downtown DC to visit the newly re-opened, renovated American History Museum – part of the Smithsonian.

We took the Metro into town – I’m not sure if this was Timothy and/or Natalie’s first subway-type ride… but it might have been.

img_4364

 

Natalie and I were trying to look tough… don’t know exactly what my face is here.
img_4372

img_4377

 

Mike suggested that we do an Icardi Top Chef marathon all week. Each night, a different person or team made a dinner that had to include an appetizer, entree, and dessert. The entree had to include a protein and two vegetables; or a protein, a vegetable, and a carb/starch. We never did vote on a winner, so I’m going to try to add a poll here – Icardis, only, please!

 

 

This is the night that Matthew and Stephen cooked – their salsa was amazing!

img_4383

 

On Christmas Eve, we all went downtown after a Christmas Eve service at church, and this guy downtown had this HUGE dog called a Newfoundland – he let me pet the dog, called “Goliath” – he weighs 180 pounds!! I want one.

img_4385

 

Later on, Timothy offered for Natalie to jump on his back. I know this picture is terrible, but you can tell how much fun they’re having, which I love!
img_4387

 

Another fun picture of my siblings!

img_4390

 

 

 

This is Stephen “helping” me break up my bread for my stuffing. He’s hitting Matthew with it. He and Mike both turned on Matthew. Good thing I had the sense to send them outside before they broke everything in my kitchen!

img_4396

 

 

Aw, Stephen is moonlighting as Santa! This is Christmas morning:

img_4406

 

 

Bailey turned 3 years old 2 days after Christmas. Everyone told us he would calm down around that age, and he has! The last few weeks have been a dramatic change in him. He poses for pictures much better now. 🙂

img_4414

 

 

My turkey was AWESOME! I cooked the entire Christmas dinner (with lots of help, of course), and it was my first time hosting and cooking a holiday/meal. It was kind of a big deal for me, and I kept waking up at night needing to make lists for the past 2 weeks. It was all worth it when my turkey came out golden brown. This is Mike assessing the turkey as he carves it. I love his “Hmmm” expression!

img_4429

 

 

Look at that juicy, yummy turkey! Brining = awesome. I basted it every hour, too.

img_4431

 

 

The turkey was so tender that when Mike lifted him out of the roasting pan, the wings fell off! See:

img_4435

 

 

It takes a village…to carve a turkey…

img_4436

 

 

Matthew looks so focused here. And, um, kinda creepy. Haha – just kidding, Matthew!

img_4441

 

 

All of the food on our kitchen bay window sill, otherwise known as the buffet:

img_4442

 

 

My grandma would be proud of my gravy! It looks dark, but it was sooooo yummy!

img_4444

img_4445

img_4447

 

 

I love this: Timothy playing PSP and Risk at the same time – talk about talented!

img_4457

 

 

Natalie and I almost-kinda matched on Friday, because we both have impeccable taste! Plus we both got Starbucks mugs for Christmas, so we couldn’t resist a picture:
img_4465

 

 

This is Bailey engaging in the “Dying Cockroach” pose whereby a gullible and soft-touch family member rubs his belly. He’s wearing the scarf that Mom and Natalie knitted for him. He looked so cute in it and actually seemed not to mind it at all!

img_44681

 

 

See what I mean about Bailey calming down? He slept with his head on Dad’s foot, and he let me take about 10 pictures without moving or freaking out. Ah, calmness!

img_4471

  1. #1 by icardi on December 30, 2008 - 12:37 am

    Thanks Laura, good assessment of the time:) Hahaha…..ya it was good. We are mostly definitely not going to be able to wait at least a year to come back up:)…..well I wish anyway. I would maybe like to come in the summer, but I do not know plans: where I’ll be, where ya’ll will be(not geogrpahically that is:)), etc. But I definitely would like to. I suggested to Stephen that we both should drive up there, maybe in summer. Thanks again for all you and Mike did, and putting us up:)!! You guys are great!!!

  2. #2 by icardi on December 30, 2008 - 12:38 am

    by the way…….nice new layout!!

  3. #3 by Mrs on December 30, 2008 - 7:40 am

    What a beautiful family Christmas! How great that everyone is now old enough to participate in preparing meals. It’s so great to see all the Icardis together!

    Your dog is GORGEOUS. I love labs!

  4. #4 by natalie on January 1, 2009 - 1:05 pm

    YES the chicken was AMAZING!!!!!! i couldn’t believe Bailey he was adorable. Well i have been on a train but not a metro!

  5. #5 by natalie on January 1, 2009 - 1:06 pm

    sorry i said chicken….i mean turkey!! sorry!

  6. #6 by Adam on January 2, 2009 - 5:10 pm

    How are there 11 votes? There weren’t 11 people that had those two meals. I think Mike is cheating.

  7. #7 by Michael Icardi on January 13, 2009 - 8:52 pm

    I think Adam is jealous of my cooking. In fact I haven’t even voted, that’s how good I am…I win without voting…

Leave a Reply

