Cubicle Fever

I work in downtown Washington, DC. On my .5 mile walk from the Metro station to my office, I see three timeless DC landmarks: the Capitol building, the Washington Monument, and the Jefferson Memorial. I see all this, and it still sometimes takes my breath away.

 

I also see the tip of the Smithsonian visitor’s center, also known as “the castle.” It used to house all of the Smithsonian museum exhibits. The Smithsonian now occupies dozens of buildings along the National Mall and elsewhere.

 

I also see other buildings which I now recognize as the American History museum, the Museum of Natural History, and, if I look closely enough, the Gallery of Art.

 

All day long I sit in a cubicle far from any window and “work.” I use quotes here because my job is so slow that I am, in fact, blogging while at work. Right now, this is all I could find to occupy my time. If only work were like… well, life. When there’s nothing left to do – just relax! But no, I come here every day, Monday through Friday, and I spend the better part of each day sitting, blogging, writing emails, checking silly websites, taking online quizzes, chatting with other people who also don’t have enough work to fill their time.

 

Your tax dollars at work.

 

And to make matters worse, it is now snowing outside. That’s right, I took a field trip to a window (- let me interrupt myself to point out just how sad that statement is : “a field trip to a window.” That is a travesty. But I digress -) to see the silent snow come fluttering to the ground. When I moved here, I thought about how cool it would be to live somewhere where it snows. Well, I might as well be working in Fiji, and the snow might as well be on Mars. If I can’t play in it, and it doesn’t cancel work, what is it good for? I can’t even watch it without taking a field trip…

And, it’s technically not even a flurry, according to weather.com. It is actual SNOW:

snow-forecast

So, you see, I have cubicle fever, a variation of cabin fever – that very ailment which plagued Jack Nicholson in “The Shining.”

 

All work and no play(ing in snow) makes Laura a dull girl. And cranky.

 

I just hit the Refresh button on my webmail browser window and… no new emails. What now?

  1. #1 by Mrs on January 26, 2009 - 7:10 pm

    Why, check your facebook, of course!

  2. #2 by Jill on January 26, 2009 - 8:10 pm

    I know how you feel; it was like that at my last job. There’s only so much internet surfing you can do.

    Maybe you could start formulating your plan for world peace…you know, win yourself that Nobel Peace prize.

  3. #3 by icardi on January 26, 2009 - 11:52 pm

    Mrs W. – Yes, true enough!

    Jill – Ya, she has a point:) Hey Laura you could start writing a book:p, who knows, you could be a best-seller one day!

    Well, that’s ashame Laura. That stinks you cannot enjoy the snow. It’s funny I am even writing this, also, as it is you know 60-70ish here and quite a far cry from snow, while up in DC it could be quite white. Hope you and Mike are doing well, and keeping warm:)

  4. #4 by Phyllis on January 27, 2009 - 7:02 am

    I think boredom would be fun once in a while. Shall I send you a handful of preschoolers?

  5. #5 by Mike and Laura Icardi on January 27, 2009 - 8:08 am

    Phyllis, sure!! Since not being a Sunday School teacher for the past many months, I’ve been missing out on my “kid fix.” I’ll take a few extras… 🙂

  6. #6 by Victoria Burg on January 28, 2009 - 10:08 am

    Ha ha. That is a dilemma. I sort of know how you feel. I am at home for 3 days out of the week, don’t want to waste gas, either. I read blogs and fan fiction (variations of a book, like my favorite, Harry Potter).
    But, I also have my cat to play with. Too bad you can’t bring Bailey to work! ha ha

  7. #7 by Heather on January 28, 2009 - 9:59 pm

    It made me smile a lot when you quoted “The Shining” lol. Aww, memories 🙂 lol

Leave a Reply

