Snow!

Yesterday was the first major / biggest snowfall of the season (and also the first time I saw a snowfall that heavy in my life)! Huge clumps of snow were falling fast and hard. I think we ended up with about 4 inches!

 

Even though the schools got snow days, we had to work. Boo… So I brought the camera along on my commute, and got very strange looks from other commuters. Whatever. Florida native, people. Be excited.

 

Here is the “Dunn Loring-Merrifield” Metro platform – our starting point for the day:

img_5080

 

 

img_5081The train tracks that lead toward the Capitol. I would have included the Capitol building in this picture, but it was too foggy.

(This is along my walk to/from work)

 

 

img_5082Berries covered by snow… hooray! (This is along my walk to/from work, too)

 

img_5083Also along my walk to/from work – blanket of snow!

 

img_5085At the end of the day, I got into the truck in the Metro parking lot to see this. Mike de-iced and scraped it down so we could drive home.

 

img_5093That’s our townhouse…

 

img_5095This is our front stoop – we stepped straight from this into our house. I think our welcome mat was under there somewhere…

 

img_5096The backyard

This is Bailey’s first time in the snow:

 

Then Mike shoveled the front walkway and we took Bailey for a walk and enjoyed the snow together…

 

img_5108I found out today from Rod (work buddy) that it was a mistake to shovel because we got an ice storm last night. Shoveling the snow made the ice more slick this morning. And it was VERY slick this morning! I almost fell many times.

 

img_5116

 

img_5118This is a trail through the woods that leads to a pretty neighborhood. We usually take this path because it’s pretty. It takes us by a creek, which is nice.

 

img_5125Check out the speed of that tail wagging action! Wow!

 

img_5127Uh-oh…

 

img_5129Yup, that’s a snowball. He threw at me about 30 seconds later… Ah, feel the love…

 

img_5130The creek… surprisingly not frozen…

 

img_5134

 

img_5137Ok, it’s out of focus. But Bailey and I just HAD to run across an open area of smooth, untouched snow. So fun!

 

 

 

Mike and I took the dog and the camera inside after this and went back out to have a snowball fight. I made a snow angel, and we tried to make a snowman, but the snow was too powdery. All in all, even if we didn’t get a whole snow day, our snow evening was great!

 

I spent the evening post-snow-playing sitting in our kitchen bay window sipping hot cocoa, reading my Bible, journaling, and then writing a letter to my mother-in-love. Best Tuesday ever.

 

Today we had the great fun of dealing with freezing rain. The result was ice, ice, and more ice. The roads were soooo slick. I almost fell down the outside stairs a few times just trying to go out to get the mail!  The snow is melting, and that’s sad… But it’s still pretty!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. #1 by icardi on January 28, 2009 - 9:27 pm

    you are living a movie Laura!! Yep, pretty much you took those photos out of a film I could only dream would come true:) It seems like you guys had a great time!! That’s great!!!

  2. #2 by Jill on January 29, 2009 - 1:08 am

    Beautiful snowy wonderland! You saw how excited I got with just a few flakes-just imagine if I were there with that amount of snow. I wouldn’t be able to contain myself!

    Speaking of containing selves…thanks for purposefully moving the camera slightly to the right while Bailey made yellow snow.

Leave a Reply

