Novelist?

I am going to keep this short, because this is just my way of procrastinating. I signed up for National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo(.org) for short. My friend, Allie Brannon, did this a couple years ago, and I thought then that I could/would never do it. But this year I felt inspired. So, here goes nothing. I am partly blogging this because the NaNoWriMo gnomes keep emailing me and encouraging first-timers to tell everyone they know that they are writing a novel – the purpose is to shame me into doing it even when it gets hard (which it already is).

Here are the basics:

Goal:

By midnight on November 30, have 50,000 words written

Don’t write the same word over and over

Write fiction and start from scratch Nov 1 (no previous drafts)

Murder your inner (and outer) editor and just WRITE

So far, here is my status: 5,761 words written. (This is below my goal for this point in the game, but I’m playing catch up!)

 

 

  1. #1 by Victoria Burg on November 7, 2009 - 7:46 pm

    Wow, I didn’t even know about that and I had starting writing a novel on my own like, 2 weeks ago. Except I only have 2 sentences so…. you are doing much better than I am! lol

  2. #2 by Daddy on November 8, 2009 - 8:25 am

    If you could get one of these software programs that turns speech into text, then start describing a dream you had…

    Just kidding. I’m glad you’re doing this project – I enjoy your writing.

  3. #3 by Natalie I. on November 8, 2009 - 2:12 pm

    What are you writing about?

Leave a Reply

