Meow

I must be part feline. It seems the only way to properly explain my feelings of people touching my stomach.

line break

Cats don’t like being rubbed or touched on their bellies. You know a cat trusts you if he/she rolls on its back and extends the belly for some rubbing action. That’s love.

line break

So, when I say I don’t like/want people touching my pregnant belly, I feel cat-like. It feels very private for someone to touch my stomach, and I don’t like it. So when random people try to do it, I kind of want to claw their eyes out, cat style.

line break

I wondered aloud yesterday whether I might feel differently once my stomach is much larger, and therefore further away from the rest of my body. Will it feel more separate? Because right now, it’s only about 3 inches north and south of two no-no zones, and that’s too close for comfort.

line break

It’s a vulnerable thing, having this belly sticking out for all to see/stare/gape/ooh/ah/coo and, gasp(!), touch. Blech.

line break

This stomach? Mine. You didn’t touch it before. So don’t touch it now. Or I might hiss. Or scratch. Or bite. And that would be SO unladylike. So please don’t force me to do it. Hands off, world!

  1. #1 by Mrs on February 25, 2010 - 9:31 pm

    PREACH. IT. Girlfriend! Oh, my goodness. Ridiculous. One woman actually touched my stomach WAY further “south” than was comfortable for someone who wasn’t my husband or my MD. I didn’t know what to do. I just stood there, agape.

    I don’t want to touch your belly, but you KNOW you’re going to have to post some belly shots! 😉

  2. #2 by Phyllis on March 5, 2010 - 2:39 pm

    I felt exactly the same way. And with me, it went even farther: I couldn’t stand to have ANYTHING touching my belly. So, maternity pants were out of the question. I was going around in dresses, without tights on in the middle of Russian winters. Obviously, I had to wear clothes, but a loose dress was all I could handle.

Leave a Reply

